Recommended settings for Windows 10 and 2019 Server on Proxmox

Alvaro Martinez Muñoz ✅
6 min readApr 8, 2024

Installing most operating systems in a virtual machine is pretty straight-forward these days, but for Windows specifically there are a few recommended settings and steps to get the best out of your virtual machine. And as I keep forgetting these steps myself too, I’m jotting them down here for future reference. These should mostly apply in the same way for Windows 10, Windows Server 2016, 2018 and 2019.

Prerequisites

This guide assumes you have already properly set up and configured your Proxmox server, and that you have your Windows installation ISO ready and uploaded to your server. I recommend Windows 10 Pro (non-Pro does not support RDP screen sharing, unfortunately) or Windows 2019 Server. You can download the Windows 10 installation ISO here, or a 180 day evaluation version of the latter here.

You’ll also need to download an ISO containing the VirtIO drivers, which are available from the Fedora project right here. Be sure to download the latest version.

Step 1: VM Settings in Proxmox

--

--

Alvaro Martinez Muñoz ✅

Hi!. I´m Alvaro and i´ll share my Personal projects hobbies like Home Assistant and Linux HomeLabs. I hope like my Posts and support me with little beer 🍻